Book Blitz: The Flames Trilogy By Cassandra Fear

Book blitz for The Flames Trilogy. Includes excepts, author interview, character interview and book giveaway

Hi everyone!

Welcome to a Book blitz for Above the Flames and Surrounded by Flames, the first two books in Cassandra Fear’s Flames Trilogy, published by Limitless publishing.  I’ll be bring you excepts, an interview with the wonderful author herself and even an interview with the main character from both books, Jasmine.  There is also a link for a book giveaway at the bottom of the page!

Book One, Above the Flames:

Jasmine’s sixteenth birthday was the worst ever…

All in one day, her dad died, she met a demon, and her mother rejected her existence forever. After all, the demon who killed her dad was there to take her, and all because of her stupid powers—the ability to conjure blue flames.

Two years later, she’s happy. But happy never lasts…

After moving to Idaho to live with her grandparents, Jasmine has a new life. Almost nobody knows about her powers, and she’s just a normal teenager with normal problems. Then comes her eighteenth birthday—and the earthquake that changes her world forever.

An army of demons rise from Hell. And Jasmine is right in the middle of the battle…

When demons claw their way to Earth, Jasmine is surrounded by hundreds of fire-eyed beasts. Worse, she is captured by a big-shot demon named Bael. He’s a tricky foe with a chip on his shoulder—and the desire to make Jasmine use her powers for evil.

Amon is a fallen angel with an attitude—and everything to lose.

Successfully escaping the underworld undetected, Amon is on a quest to regain God’s grace when he rescues Jasmine from the clutches of a particularly nasty demon he knows all too well. The attraction between him and the not-entirely-human captive is instantaneous. Heavenly sparks fly, but ideas of romance will have to wait. First they have to stop the demon race from wiping out the mortal realm. Humanity’s fate rests in their hands.

Can two troubled angels rise above the flames to ensure a future for mankind? Or will Jasmine and Amon’s souls be bound together—in hell?

IMG_3219

Book Two Surrounded by Flames:

The gates of hell have opened, demons are ravaging the Earth, and no one is safe…

Only Angel Blessed like Jasmine Reynolds can keep demons from burning the corpses of the damned in the streets, and turning Earth into Hell. But are the angels powerful enough to defeat the evil horde?

The demon Bael hasn’t given up his quest to use Jasmine’s powers for evil…

Bael kills her estranged mother before she can make peace with her, then takes her friends hostage. When Jasmine tries to save them, Bael assaults her mind and brings out a dark side she never knew existed. He corrupts her soul and turns her into a weapon against the ones she loves.

Is their love strong enough to defy evil?

When Jasmine attacks her boyfriend Amon, not even a soul-healing can banish her guilt. She wonders how she can go on living with this evil inside her. But she has to find a way to reconcile herself with the evil within, and with the truth of her parentage, or all is lost.

The souls of Earth are surrounded by flames, and Jasmine must find the strength to quench the fire before they all burn.

The gates of hell have opened, demons are ravaging the Earth, and no one is safe…
Only Angel Blessed like Jasmine Reynolds can keep demons from burning the corpses of the damned in the streets, and turning Earth into Hell. But are the angels powerful enough to defeat the evil horde?
The demon Bael hasn’t given up his quest to use Jasmine’s powers for evil…
Bael kills her estranged mother before she can make peace with her, then takes her friends hostage. When Jasmine tries to save them, Bael assaults her mind and brings out a dark side she never knew existed. He corrupts her soul and turns her into a weapon against the ones she loves.
Is their love strong enough to defy evil?
When Jasmine attacks her boyfriend Amon, not even a soul-healing can banish her guilt. She wonders how she can go on living with this evil inside her. But she has to find a way to reconcile herself with the evil within, and with the truth of her parentage, or all is lost.
The souls of Earth are surrounded by flames, and Jasmine must find the strength to quench the fire before they all burn.

Except:

She continued toward the sidewalk, taking in all the small shops that lined Main Street. Each side looked the same. Blood splatters. Broken windows. Glass sprinkling the street. She saw another body sprawled face down on the sidewalk, a puddle of crimson soaking into the concrete, turning dark brown. It seemed like she was walking through a haunted house, not the town she fell in love with.

Jasmine covered her mouth and she gasped as she passed Mr. Gregory’s barber shop, where Pa always got his hair cut. Mr. Gregory sat with his back to the wall in the doorway; his neck cut open and red streams flowing down it.

Footsteps pounded the asphalt behind her, and she knew the others had joined her, but it didn’t register. She rushed to the barbershop and grabbed the barber’s wrist, checked for a pulse, and let his dead arm fall to the ground. It landed with a thud that echoed off the walls in the small entrance. She cringed at the sight of blood coating his skin. Her stomach roiled and she stepped backward until she slammed into the wall behind. She turned her head, not wanting to see what lay before her.

Caim came forward and crouched down next to the body. “His body’s still warm. They can’t be far.”

“Everyone stay close. We don’t know what we are walking into,” Lamia said quietly but firmly.

Jasmine walked forward mechanically, and Beau matched her pace. She took steps, one after the other, like a zombie. Trash littered the sidewalks. Glass shards crunched under her feet as she followed Caim. The coppery smell of blood filled her senses. Dead bodies surrounded her. So many bodies.

Her voice shook. “Is there anyone left alive?”

 

Author Interview:

Can you tell me a bit about yourself?

I’m Cassandra Fear. I live in Ohio. I write a lot and when I’m not writing I am usually nose-deep in a book. Oh, and I am a taxi driver for my children. Can’t forget that.

 

Can you give us a brief overview of Above the Flames and Surrounded by Flames?

Above the Flames follows the story of Jasmine Reynolds. She’s a girl who just turned eighteen living with her grandparents when all hell breaks loose, literally. She finds she is responsible to stop the demons from taking Earth as their new hell, but she doesn’t have a clue where to start. Luckily, a bunch of fallen angels who hates Bael as much as she does join her side and they get to work training and fighting. But, she gets captured by Bael and bad things happen when her friends try to rescue her. But you’ll have to read about that.

Surrounded by Flames picks up right where Above the Flames leaves off. But this book focuses on the characters more. There are a ton of secondary characters and quite a few main characters, so these books are both multi-POV books. But, this one, half the gang is on a road trip while the other half is demon hunting. But, Bael is up to his old tricks, only this time they are much worse and nobody sees them coming until it’s almost too late.

 

Who is your favourite character to write?

I love writing Amon because he doesn’t know a lot of modern terminology, so it’s fun to pick and choose what he would know and wouldn’t. But, I have to say, my all-time favorite character is Princess Jovi from Land of Strength and Sorrow. She is fierce, but kind and compassionate. She is someone I’d want to be best friends with. And she takes me places I never thought to go. So, right now, she’s my favorite.

 

What inspires you?

So many things. I can find inspiration in a leaf on a tree. A song on the radio. An old photo. Another book that I love. My mom. My kids. My husband. I mean, this question is so hard because truthfully inspiration strikes when I least expect it.

 

Who are your favourite authors? 

I love Karen Marie Moning, Diana Gabaldon, Sarah J Maas, Charlaine Harris, Marissa Meyer and Jane Austen.

 

Do you have any upcoming projects, book three maybe?

I am working on book three, yes. It is title Conquering the Flames. But, I’m also releasing a new series in July, Book One of The Letters of Love Series titled It Starts With O. I’m also releasing a fantasy novel, Book One in The Secrets of Orendor Series titled Land of Strength and Sorry with Bon Chance Press, a brand new publisher. So, I’m working on sequels for each of these books, as well as wrapping up The Flames Trilogy.

 

IMG_3067

Except:

Jasmine tapped under his chin and made him draw his eyes back up to hers. “Listen, I get it. The could haves will drive you nuts, though, so I suggest you let it go and focus on the now. It doesn’t matter what the angels did wrong or what they did right. It matters that we are here, now, to stop the demons. Who knows, maybe this really is our destiny. All I know is I’m ready to fight. Aren’t you?”

He smiled and leaned closer to her. “You know, you can be very inspirational when you aren’t sulking.”

“I don’t sulk.” She laughed because even though she’d denied it, she knew she did sulk. A lot.

“Mmm. I think you do. We will just have to agree to disagree.”

Their faces were inches apart now, and Jasmine wanted to grab a fistful of his shirt and pull him the rest of the way to her. She wanted their lips to crash together, to feel the passion that threatened to erupt every time they were together. Just as she was about to let herself do exactly what she wanted, the sound of wings flapping through the sky made her look up. And she froze.

“Uh, Amon, look up there.” Jasmine pointed.

“I’d rather not,” he replied. When Jasmine peered at him, he was staring hard at her lips.

She smiled despite herself, and put a couple fingers under his chin, forcing his head toward the sky. “I really think you need to.”

Amon’s jaw dropped open. “It’s an angel.”

 

Character Q&A

Can you tell us a bit about yourself?

Yeah. My name’s Jasmine. I’m eighteen. I am a little stubborn, a bit sassy and a whole lot of bad a**. Oops. Can I say that word here? Well, I guess I just did so…ha.

What is life like for you right now?

Crazy. I mean, I’ve got demons swarming the world, killing every human they can. I’m not normal. Never have been, but my power I used to be able to keep under wraps is spiraling out of control. And, one demon in particular, Bael, wants to capture me all the time. I still don’t know why, though.

 

What is your greatest regret?

Probably how I treated Beau. I should never have hurt him the way I did. The heart wants what the heart wants, though. Beau is and was my best friend, but things are a lot different now. Mainly since he’s an angel…

 

Which living person do you most despise?

Each and every demon. Some I can’t name, but two I can tell you for sure. Bael. And Lucifer. They both need to die, along with the rest of their army. Hopefully I can help with that.

 

What is your greatest fear?

Losing the war. If the demons manage to kill off the humans, Earth becomes their new Hell. And I can’t let that happen. It scares me to even think about it. Which makes me fight even harder.

 

If you could change one thing about yourself, what would it be? 

I rush into situations head first with no thought and I do it a lot. I want to change that so much, but it’s hard.

 

I’ll leave you with one last except and don’t forget to check out the link to the book giveaway below!

Amon narrowed his eyes. “Fine. I guess I know now that I shouldn’t try to help you.”

Jasmine huffed. “Yeah, because you’re so great at helping. You took Beau’s side.”

“I took no side.” Amon took a step closer.

“And you act like you know everything.” Jasmine pressed her back into the tree.

“I do no such thing.” Another step.

“You are so infuriating. Ugh!” She threw her hands in the air. “I can’t stand talking to you. You’re like an old-fashioned know-it-all. You’re never wrong. But you’re always wrong.”

“That makes no sense.” He stood right in front of her now.

Jasmine pushed her face into his. “You drive me crazy.”

“You were already crazy. I didn’t have to drive you there.”

“You…you jerk!”

Amon shoved his fists against the tree, boxing her in. “Oh, now we are name-calling? Fine! You’re nothing but a…a…”

“Ha. You can’t even think of anything.” She gave him a smug smile. “I guess you don’t know everything, huh?”

“You know what, Jasmine. You infuriate me. I try to help you, to show you what I have observed by the story you share, and you treat me like I’m a plague upon you. I have learned a valuable lesson today.” Their eyes locked.

She raised her chin. “And what’s that.”

Amon’s voice softened. “I don’t even know why you are so mad.”

She whispered, “Because I know you’re right.”

Silence stretched. Jasmine kept her gaze locked on Amon’s brown eyes. Those big honey brown eyes. Her breath quickened and she parted her lips. Her fingers trembled, so she shoved them behind her and grabbed hold of her shirt. Amon leaned closer, his warm breath caressing her ear. “Then stop fighting me.”

Giveaway URL: <a class=”rcptr” href=”http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/e414d23c4/&#8221; rel=”nofollow” data-raflid=”e414d23c4″ data-theme=”classic” data-template=”” id=”rcwidget_c0jkdrff”>a Rafflecopter giveaway</a>

https://widget-prime.rafflecopter.com/launch.js

 

Author Bio:

Cassandra Fear lives in Ohio with her husband, two kids and two dogs. Hiking, taking care of her fish tank and reading are her favorite hobbies. She loves chocolate, hates driving in the snow and could eat macaroni and cheese every day. In her spare time, she loves to write, and has always dreamed of becoming an author.

 

Author Website:

www.cassandrafear.com

 

 

Buy Links:

Above The Flames (Book 1)

US- http://tinyurl.com/kslo4ex

UK- http://tinyurl.com/m85s6aw

CA- http://tinyurl.com/ya8py6ve

 

Surrounded By Flames (Book 2)

US- http://tinyurl.com/kjl8v93

UK- http://tinyurl.com/kuqjxqm

CA- http://tinyurl.com/y6wkxhxk

 

Author: ljcassidyblog

Aspiring author. Mother. General procrastinator. Wattpad user. Book Nerd.

1 thought on “Book Blitz: The Flames Trilogy By Cassandra Fear”

Leave a Reply

